Je suis Malgache, un point c’est tout !

Par défaut


Le commentaire ci-dessous mis sur cet article  m’a mise hors de moi à tel point que j’y suis allée du mien moi aussi.

Je n’ai rien compris à l’étude que l’auteur du billet a faite, ce n’est pas le sujet pour moi. Je veux parler plutôt du commentaire !

Ce qui me fait revenir à une conversation entre une amie française de longue date qui m’a dit qu’elle a fait la connaissance (ici en France) d’un Vazaha vivant à Nosy Be. Elle lui a dit qu’elle avait une amie malgache (moi) et tout de suite le Vazaha en question demande d’où j’étais originaire. Mon amie m’a dit qu’elle n’a pas su lui répondre. Je lui ai répondu : «Normal, je ne te l’ai jamais dit ! Je suis Malgache, un point c’est tout !». Et elle ne le sait toujours pas🙂

 


8. David JOHNSTONE Says:
September 10th, 2011 at 12:54 am

I am an Australian married to a Tandroy and living in Fort Dauphin in the extreme South of Madagascar. Your study and the possibility of unintended bias concerns me greatly. The Imerina represent no more than 15% (at best) of Madagascar’s population. There are, in fact, 18 different ethnic groups and their roots are similarly diverse, although most are I beleive a mixture predominantly of African and Malay. However, you should know that something very akin to apartheid exists within Malagasy society, the iMerina holding virtually all key posts, academic seats, etc. and the wealth not being distributed to others (“mainty” – or blacks) whom many iMerina shun/regard as their ethnic inferiors. Thiss is an unfortunate fact, although your iMerina contacts will poo-hoo this saying this is how it used to be but all has changed now. It hasn’t! The iMerina hold nearly all diplomatic and academic posts and are at great pains to promote their culture as THE unique culture of the island and themselves as the only indigenes (therefore possessing a superior claim to all the assets etc. of the island). For their own economic interests they have been abetted in this by the colonial (and subsequent) French administration. All, therefore, is NOT as it seems at first glance on this island, where I have now been living for 5 long years. You, sir, are a scientist I beleive. To have a balanced and unbiased view, therefore, of the true origins of the Malagasy people, you would need to analyse also the DNA of costal folk (cotiers) like my Tandroy family (we would gladly provide you with samples if you could facillitate this), their cousins the Tanosy, the Vezo from Tulear, The Betsimaraka from the Mananjary region, The Barra from the savannah region north east of Tulear etc.etc.etc. Your iMerina contacts will tell you that the ethnic variations you will find are the results of slavery and/or blow ins. Maybe … but they have a hidden agenda in claiming this. In a previous incarnation I lived for 12 years with a woman from Tonga, a cousin of the late king Tupou in fact. I was amazed when I came here to find more than a few words in the Tandroy dialect wwhich are strangely similar, aand sometimes identical. Could this point to immigration here from Polynesia too as well as from Asia and Africa …. both of which stains are imeadiately apparent in the population at large? I would be interested to hear from you sir.

Voici ma réponse au commentaire

David JOHNSTONE Says “However, you should know that something very akin to apartheid exists within Malagasy society, the iMerina holding virtually all key posts, academic seats, etc. and the wealth not being distributed to others (“mainty” – or blacks) whom many iMerina shun/regard as their ethnic inferiors.”

Je vais parler en français, les propos de Monsieur David Johnstone me choquent profondément. Je suis originaire des Hauts Plateaux et donc Merina mais c’est vous les Vazaha qui divisent les Malgaches. Peu importe d’où je suis originaire, quand on me le demande, je réponds que je suis malgache, point final.

As @malagasy says when he twitted your post (he is not malagasy, I think) : malagasy Merina #genetics are bantu and malay says @razibkhan . I believe he will find all malagasy to be the same.
I completely agree with him. So please stop saying b*** Mr David JOHNSTONE

@Razib Khan : I have a lot of respect of your work, I’m not scientist and I apologise about my comment to Mr David JOHNSTONE but I couldn’t let him saying what he said.

Thank you very much

À propos de prettyzoely

Lost In My Dream To Change The World On My Way If You Ask Me. I am Influential and Inspirational, But Sometimes I Lie That Makes You Smile ;-) whytofollow.me/prettyzoely

Les commentaires sont fermés.